Compare

Munshi vs StoryChief

Munshi Social, the AI content marketing engine for small teams, side by side with StoryChief. StoryChief is the closest comparison to Munshi. It is a content marketing platform from Ghent, Belgium that publishes blog articles and social posts from one calendar. It has served content teams and agencies since 2016.

Pricing and features checked against storychief.io/pricing, its help centre and its integrations directory on 29 August 2026

14-day free trial · No card required · 7-day money-back

Pick StoryChief if you employ writers: it gives them a better desk, with seats and editorial approvals. Pick Munshi if you are the writer and have no time, because Munshi does the writing for you. Both tools publish blog articles and social posts from one calendar. The real difference is who writes the content and how the AI is paid for. StoryChief assists your writers from a monthly credit balance, and article publishing needs the $81/seat/mo Team Editorial tier. In Munshi, 15 researched articles and 1,000 posts a month are the product itself. It costs $15/mo flat, with two seats and no credit meter.

Weighing more than two tools? See the best StoryChief alternatives in 2026, ranked by how much of the content work each one does for you.

Who they are
Founded in 2016 in Ghent, Belgium, with 11 to 50 staff.
Public rating
4.6 on G2 (32 reviews), 4.7 on Capterra (129 reviews)
Entry price
$22/mo billed yearly: 1 seat, 3 channels, 60 posts
Price with articles
$81/seat/mo (Team Editorial). No cheaper tier publishes articles.
Billing terms
Quarterly or yearly only. No month-to-month plan.
Free trial
7 days, no card, all features

What each one actually does

Munshi StoryChief
Starting price $15/mo founding price, locked for life (rises to $49 at launch) Social Calendar $22/mo yearly ($27 quarterly). Articles need Team Editorial at $81/seat/mo
What that buys The whole engine: strategy, 15 SEO articles a month, 1,000 posts a month, publishing, analytics 1 seat, 3 social channels, 60 posts a month, 1,000 AI credits on the entry plan
Writes your content? Yes: plans, writes, and grades articles and posts for you An AI marketing agent you drive, paid for in credits (1,000 to 8,000 a month by plan)
Blog articles to your site? Yes: WordPress, Ghost, Webflow, Framer, or Sanity. Articles arrive as drafts you publish from your CMS, except on Sanity, which goes live Yes, on Editorial tiers: 17 CMS destinations, including WordPress, Webflow, HubSpot, Ghost and Wix
Keyword & content strategy Included: keyword research and a weekly plan you approve SEO and GEO (AI answer engine) briefs plus a weekly content audit, on Editorial tiers
Social networks 8 networks: Instagram, TikTok, LinkedIn, Facebook, Pinterest, Threads, YouTube, Bluesky 3 to 6 connected channels by plan. Extra channels about $6/mo each
Approval workflow One weekly approval batch. Nothing ships without your yes Multi-seat editorial approvals, strong for teams with a real review chain
Analytics Every channel in one dashboard, captured daily Social analytics on paid plans. Website and SEO analytics on Editorial
Free trial 14 days, full engine, no card required Free plan (analytics only), plus a 7-day trial on paid plans, no card

The rows above, as screens

A comparison table is a set of claims, so here are four screens from the app itself. They show who writes the content, how one idea reaches each network, where the week sits, and what comes back afterwards.

The Munshi article writer with ten steps ticked, SEO Optimization Pass 59, GEO Citability Pass 95, and the Featured Image step open.
Who writes it: ten steps you can read one at a time, two of them scores out of 100.
The Munshi composer posting to LinkedIn, Instagram and Facebook, with the LinkedIn tab open, its own caption, and a Use shared text button.
One post gets a tab for each network you picked. Reword the LinkedIn tab and Munshi marks it customized. One button puts the shared text back.
The Munshi calendar for September 2026, with posts and articles on most days, a filter for each channel and a colour key.
Where the week lives: the blog and every connected channel on one month, colour-coded by state.
Munshi Results, growth per channel: Instagram reached 8,184, LinkedIn engagement rate 5.8%, Facebook 516 people reached, TikTok 1,784 views, Pinterest and YouTube Not reported.
What comes back: one card per network, in the measure that network reports. Each card shows when it was read, and says Not reported where the network gives nothing.

The differences that decide it

Every comparison on this site answers the rows above. These rows matter only when two tools are this close.

Munshi StoryChief
Who writes the content Munshi does. It drafts articles and posts from the keyword map you approved, using your company profile for positioning. They are ready before you open the app. You do, with help. The AI marketing agent researches, builds briefs and drafts. A person still owns and finishes the piece.
How the AI is metered By finished output: 15 articles and 1,000 posts a month. There is no credit balance to watch or top up. By credits: 1,000 a month on Social Calendar, 5,000 on Team Social and 8,000 on Team Editorial. Bigger bundles are add-on packs at roughly $57 to $143 a month.
Cheapest route to a published blog article $15/mo. Articles are in the base plan, not an upgrade. $81/seat/mo on Team Editorial billed yearly, or $97 quarterly. The $22 Social Calendar plan does not publish to a website.
Billing terms $15 a month, or $144 a year. Cancel any time through the Paddle billing portal, with 7-day money back on a first payment. Quarterly or yearly commitments only. Reviewers report a strict refund stance.
Seats Two per workspace, included in the price. There is no third seat. Priced per seat on Team plans and per client on Agency plans, so the cost grows with headcount.
Blog destinations 5: WordPress, Ghost, Webflow, Framer, Sanity 17: WordPress, Webflow, HubSpot, Ghost, Contentful, Wix, Drupal, Joomla, Craft, Umbraco, Statamic, Sitecore, Adobe Experience Manager, SharePoint, Episerver, SiteManager and Fork.
Social networks 8, with no per-channel fee: Instagram, TikTok, LinkedIn, Facebook, Pinterest, Threads, YouTube, Bluesky. 11 or more: much the same set, plus Google Business Profile, Facebook Groups, Tumblr and Slack. Your plan caps how many you can connect at once, and extra channels are billed.
Article volume 15 a month on Founding, and 45 pooled across three brands on Studio. Munshi writes them. Up to 100 a month on Editorial tiers. Your team writes them.
Approval workflow One weekly batch you clear in one sitting. Nothing unapproved publishes. Multi-step approvals with roles, comments and assignments. This is the better tool if two people must sign off.
Analytics Search Console, Google Analytics and every connected network on one Results page. It refreshes through the day and flags a broken connection. Social analytics on paid plans. Editorial tiers add website and SEO analytics plus a weekly content audit.
Employee advocacy Not offered. Included. Staff can share campaign content from their own profiles.
Agency setup Studio runs 3 brands on one login, with per-brand PDF and Excel reports at month end. Agency tiers price per client, with unlimited users. Agency Editorial adds API access.
Single sign-on Not offered. On Enterprise, or as a $25 to $30/mo add-on with a five-user minimum.
Track record Munshi launched in 2026. The team is small and the history is short, and we would rather you knew that. Ten years in market, hundreds of public reviews, and an enterprise tier with SLAs (service level agreements).

Every plan, both sides

These are published list prices, not what a sales call gets you. We re-check them whenever either vendor changes a price, and the date is at the top of this page.

StoryChief plans in full

Plan Billed yearly Billed quarterly Channels Posts Articles AI credits
Free$0$0NoneNoneNoneNone
Social Media Calendar$22/mo$27/mo360/moNot included1,000/mo
Team Social$34/seat/mo$41/seat/mo4UnlimitedNot included5,000/mo
Team Editorial$81/seat/mo$97/seat/mo6Unlimited100/mo8,000/mo
Agency Social$58/client/mo$69/client/mo4 per clientUnlimitedNot included5,000/mo
Agency Editorial$93/client/mo$112/client/mo6 per clientUnlimited100/mo8,000/mo
EnterpriseCustomCustomUnlimitedCustomCustomCustom

The free plan is analytics only. Add-ons cost extra. An extra social channel is about $6/mo. The AI Extension Pack is about $57 to $69/mo for 50,000 credits, and the AI Pro Pack about $119 to $143/mo for 100,000. SSO is about $25 to $30/mo, with a five-user minimum. StoryChief lists euro prices first, and the dollar figures above are its own conversions.

Munshi plans in full

Plan Billed monthly Billed yearly Networks Posts Articles AI credits
Founding$15/mo$144/yr81,000/mo15/mo, written for youNone. Output is the limit.
Studio$29/mo$288/yr8 per brand3,000/mo45/mo across 3 brandsNone. Output is the limit.
EnterpriseCustomCustom8 per brandSet with the planSet with the planNone

Founding pricing is locked for life on the plan and billing cycle you join. Later price rises apply only to new members. Every tier includes two seats per workspace.

Three situations, with the arithmetic

These are list prices, multiplied out. Do the same sum for your own team before you believe either of us.

A solo operator who wants a blog and social

One person and one brand, with articles going out as well as posts.

StoryChief $81/mo Team Editorial, one seat, billed yearly ($97 quarterly). The $22 Social Calendar plan cannot publish an article to a website, so it does not fit here.
Munshi $15/mo Founding. Articles, posts, publishing and analytics are all in the base plan.

The two prices buy different things. StoryChief's $81 buys 100 article slots and 8,000 credits that you still have to drive yourself. Munshi's $15 buys 15 finished articles you approve or send back.

A three-person marketing team

A manager, a writer, and someone who approves before anything ships.

StoryChief $243/mo Team Editorial at $81 a seat, three seats, billed yearly ($291 quarterly). You get roles, comments and a real review chain.
Munshi $15/mo, but only two seats Munshi caps a workspace at two seats, and the only roles are owner and member.

Here StoryChief is simply the better tool. If three people need their own logins and a review chain with roles, Munshi cannot do that yet. No price makes up for it.

An agency running five clients

Five brands, separate calendars, and a report for each at month end.

StoryChief $465/mo Agency Editorial at $93 per client, five clients, billed yearly ($560 quarterly). Unlimited users, client workspaces and API access.
Munshi $58/mo Two Studio subscriptions cover six brands. Each brand gets its own results and a branded PDF or Excel report for the client.

Munshi costs roughly an eighth as much and writes the content. StoryChief gives you client portals, unlimited user seats and an API. Past six brands, ask us about Enterprise instead of stacking Studio plans.

Pick StoryChief if…

  • More than two people touch the content, and someone approves someone else's work
  • Your site runs on a CMS Munshi cannot publish to: HubSpot, Drupal, Wix, Contentful, Craft, Umbraco or SharePoint
  • You need Google Business Profile, Slack, Tumblr or Facebook Groups as publishing channels
  • You are an agency that wants client portals, unlimited user seats and API access
  • You want editorial control with AI as the assistant, not a tool that writes the first draft on its own
  • You want a vendor with a decade behind it, an enterprise tier, SSO and an SLA

Pick Munshi if…

  • Nobody is going to write the articles, and 100 empty article slots do not help you
  • You want one flat price, not a seat count that grows with the team
  • You publish to Framer or Sanity, which StoryChief does not support
  • You want to pay month to month, not commit a quarter or a year up front
  • $81/seat/mo just to publish an article is more than your whole content budget
  • You want blog numbers and social numbers on one page without buying two tiers

Where each one falls down

A comparison written by one of the two tools is worth reading only if it is willing to lose a row. Here are both lists.

What reviewers flag about StoryChief

  • The SEO scoring is tuned for English. Reviewers writing in Korean and Mandarin say it is close to useless for them.
  • Several reviewers describe a strict no-refund stance and auto-renewals that were hard to undo.
  • Moving between pages in the app can feel slow.
  • Freelancers repeatedly call the price steep once article publishing is involved.
  • There is no month-to-month plan, so the smallest commitment is a quarter.

Public reviews on Capterra and G2, read August 2026

What we will tell you about Munshi

  • Two seats per workspace, and the only roles are owner and member. A team of three does not fit.
  • The base plan tops out at 15 articles a month, while StoryChief's Editorial tiers allow 100. Here, the only way to more articles is moving up to Studio.
  • Five blog destinations (WordPress, Ghost, Webflow, Framer, or Sanity), not seventeen. If your site runs on Drupal, HubSpot or Wix, we cannot publish to it.
  • No employee advocacy, no social listening, no shared inbox for customer service and no SSO.
  • A small team launched Munshi in 2026. The track record is short, and you should price that in.

Written by the people who build Munshi, August 2026

Munshi and StoryChief, answered

How much does StoryChief cost?

Paid plans start at $22 a month billed yearly, or $27 quarterly, for the Social Media Calendar plan. That buys one seat, three social channels, 60 posts a month and 1,000 AI credits. Team Social is $34 a seat a month, and Team Editorial is $81 a seat a month. Agency plans are $58 and $93 per client per month, and Enterprise is quoted. Prices checked on storychief.io/pricing in August 2026.

Does StoryChief have a free plan?

Yes, but it is analytics only. The free tier gives you social media analytics plus website and SEO analytics. It does not publish posts or articles, so it is a dashboard, not a free way to run your content.

Can you publish blog articles on StoryChief's cheapest paid plan?

No. The $22 Social Media Calendar plan publishes to social only. Publishing articles to your own website needs an Editorial tier. That starts at $81 a seat a month on Team Editorial, or $93 per client on Agency Editorial.

Does StoryChief bill monthly?

No. StoryChief bills quarterly or yearly, with a discount for paying yearly. The smallest commitment is one quarter. Munshi bills monthly at $15, or $144 for a year.

How long is the StoryChief free trial?

Seven days on paid plans, with all features and add-ons and no credit card. Munshi's trial runs 14 days and includes 3 real articles and 50 posts, also with no card.

What are StoryChief's AI credits, and what happens when they run out?

They are a monthly balance that AI drafting, ideas and optimization draw from. Plans include 1,000 credits on Social Media Calendar, 5,000 on Team Social and 8,000 on Team Editorial. When they run out, you buy a pack: roughly $57 to $69 a month for 50,000 credits, or $119 to $143 for 100,000. Munshi has no credits. The plan caps finished output at 15 articles and 1,000 posts a month, and nothing meters the drafting in between.

Which CMS platforms does StoryChief publish to?

Seventeen, including WordPress, Webflow, HubSpot, Ghost, Contentful, Wix, Drupal, Joomla, Craft CMS, Umbraco, Statamic, Sitecore, Adobe Experience Manager and SharePoint Online. It does not publish to Framer or Sanity. Munshi publishes to five: WordPress, Ghost, Webflow, Framer and Sanity.

Which social networks does each one publish to?

StoryChief connects Facebook Pages and Groups, X, LinkedIn pages and profiles, Instagram and Threads. It also connects TikTok, Pinterest, YouTube Shorts, Google Business Profile, Bluesky, Tumblr and Slack. Its plans cap you at three to six connected channels, and each one past the cap costs about $6 a month. Munshi connects 8 with no per-channel fee: Instagram, TikTok, LinkedIn, Facebook, Pinterest, Threads, YouTube and Bluesky. X is coming soon.

Is StoryChief good for agencies?

Yes, it is one of its strengths. Agency plans price per client, not per seat, and allow unlimited users. Agency Editorial adds API access and a weekly content audit per client. At $93 per client per month it costs more, but for an agency with a staffed content team it is the more complete tool.

What is the closest StoryChief alternative for a one-person business?

It depends on whether you write. If you write and just need a better desk, the cheaper StoryChief tiers or a plain scheduler like Buffer will do. If you do not write and never will, you need a writer, not a calendar. That is what Munshi is: 15 articles and 1,000 posts a month at $15 flat.

Can I move from StoryChief to Munshi?

Yes. There is no importer, but the move is small. Anything StoryChief published to your own CMS stays on your site, because it lives there and not on StoryChief. Export anything that lives only in a StoryChief content hub before you cancel. Then connect your CMS and social accounts to Munshi and approve a first strategy, which takes about an afternoon.

Does Munshi write the articles, or just help me write them?

It writes them. Each article targets a keyword from the strategy you approved. It is graded for classic search and for AI answer engines before you see it. Then it lands in a weekly batch for you to approve or send back, and nothing publishes without your yes.

More on what Munshi does: the blog engine · cross-posting · analytics · pricing