Compare

Munshi vs Buffer

Munshi Social, the AI content marketing engine for small teams, side by side with Buffer. Buffer is the best-known lightweight social media scheduler. It has a clean queue, a community inbox, a link in bio page, mobile apps and a free plan that never expires. You pay per connected channel.

Pricing and features checked against buffer.com/pricing, buffer.com and Buffer's help centre on 17 September 2026

14-day free trial · No card required · 7-day money-back

Pick Buffer if someone on your team already writes the posts: it is the better scheduler and the cheaper start. Pick Munshi if nobody writes, because Munshi plans, writes and publishes the content for you. Buffer queues, publishes and measures posts across eleven networks, and its free plan costs nothing forever. Its AI Assistant drafts or reshapes one post at a time, inside the composer, when you ask. Munshi is the AI content marketing engine. It proposes the plan, writes the articles and the posts, publishes them to your blog and your networks, and reports back. If nobody writes, Buffer hands you an empty queue, and no price makes that useful.

Weighing more than two tools? See the best Buffer alternatives in 2026, ranked by how much of the content work each one does for you.

Free plan
3 channels, 10 scheduled posts each, 100 ideas, 1 user, forever
Cheapest paid plan
Essentials, $6 per channel a month, or $60 per channel a year
Seats
1 user on Free and Essentials. Unlimited team members on Team, $12 per channel a month.
Networks
11, plus Facebook Groups and Buffer's own Start Page. Each connected account is billed as a channel.
Free trial
14 days on paid plans. The free plan needs no trial.
Blog articles
Not offered. Buffer publishes to social channels and its Start Page.

What each one actually does

Munshi Buffer
Starting price $15/mo founding price, locked for life (rises to $49 at launch) Free forever for 3 channels. Essentials $6 per channel a month ($60 a year), Team $12 per channel a month ($120 a year)
What that buys The whole engine: strategy, 15 SEO articles a month, 1,000 posts a month, publishing, analytics A queue, a calendar, a community inbox, analytics and a link in bio page, for content you write yourself
Writes your content? Yes: plans, writes, and grades articles and posts for you One post at a time, when you ask. The AI Assistant drafts from a prompt and rewrites your text, with no credit limit. It never plans the week
Blog articles to your site? Yes: WordPress, Ghost, Webflow, Framer, or Sanity. Articles arrive as drafts you publish from your CMS, except on Sanity, which goes live No. Buffer's channel list is social accounts plus its own Start Page
Keyword & content strategy Included: keyword research and a weekly plan you approve Not offered. Ideas is a place to park your own notes, not a keyword plan
Social networks 8 networks: Instagram, TikTok, LinkedIn, Facebook, Pinterest, Threads, YouTube, Bluesky 11 networks. Every connected account is a billed channel, so five Facebook Pages is five channels
Approval workflow One weekly approval batch. Nothing ships without your yes Content approval workflows on Team only, at $12 per channel a month
Analytics Every channel in one dashboard, captured daily 30 days of history free. Paid plans add unlimited history and branded reports you can export. Social only
Free trial 14 days, full engine, no card required Free plan forever, plus a 14-day trial on paid plans

The rows above, as screens

A comparison table is a set of claims, so here are four screens from the app itself. They show who writes the content, how one idea reaches each network, where the week sits, and what comes back afterwards.

The Munshi article writer with ten steps ticked, SEO Optimization Pass 59, GEO Citability Pass 95, and the Featured Image step open.
Who writes it: ten steps you can read one at a time, two of them scores out of 100.
The Munshi composer posting to LinkedIn, Instagram and Facebook, with the LinkedIn tab open, its own caption, and a Use shared text button.
One post gets a tab for each network you picked. Reword the LinkedIn tab and Munshi marks it customized. One button puts the shared text back.
The Munshi calendar for September 2026, with posts and articles on most days, a filter for each channel and a colour key.
Where the week lives: the blog and every connected channel on one month, colour-coded by state.
Munshi Results, growth per channel: Instagram reached 8,184, LinkedIn engagement rate 5.8%, Facebook 516 people reached, TikTok 1,784 views, Pinterest and YouTube Not reported.
What comes back: one card per network, in the measure that network reports. Each card shows when it was read, and says Not reported where the network gives nothing.

The differences that decide it

Every comparison on this site answers the rows above. These rows matter only when two tools are this close.

Munshi Buffer
Who writes the content Munshi does. It drafts articles and posts from the keyword map you approved and your company profile. They wait in a batch before you open the app. You do, one post at a time. The AI Assistant sits in the composer. Give it a prompt and it drafts a post, or give it your text to shorten, expand, change the tone or reshape for another network. Either way, you sit in the composer and ask for each post.
How the AI is metered By finished output: 15 articles and 1,000 posts a month on Founding. There is no credit balance. Not metered. Buffer removed AI Assistant credit limits. Unlimited use is now included on every plan, the free one too.
How the price scales One flat price for all 8 networks. You cannot connect a ninth channel, and a third one is not billed. Per channel. Channels 1 to 10 cost $6 each on Essentials and $12 each on Team. Channels 11 to 25 drop to $4, and 26 to 50 drop to $3. Past 50, they cost $1 on Essentials or $2 on Team.
Accounts per network One per workspace: one Instagram, one Facebook Page, one LinkedIn profile or Company Page. A second account on the same network needs a second workspace, which means Studio. As many as you like. Channels are unlimited on both paid plans. Buffer counts Facebook pages and groups, and LinkedIn pages and profiles, as separate channels. Each one is billed.
Blog articles 15 a month on Founding, written for you into WordPress, Ghost, Webflow, Framer, or Sanity. Ghost, Webflow, and Framer get them as drafts you publish from your own dashboard. WordPress gets drafts too, except scheduled articles, which go live at their slot. Sanity goes live on schedule. Not part of the product. Nothing in Buffer writes or publishes to a website.
Seats and roles Two per workspace, included. The only roles are owner and member. One user on Free and Essentials. Team allows unlimited team members, custom access controls and approvals, at double the per-channel price.
Approval workflow One weekly batch you clear in one sitting. Nothing unapproved publishes. Content approval workflows on the Team plan. A contributor drafts and an approver releases. This is the mature version of the idea.
Replying to comments A Community inbox for Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn and Threads, where you reply and mark comments resolved. On Instagram and Threads you can also delete or hide comments. YouTube and Bluesky comments come in to read, and you answer on the network. Replies are capped at 20 an hour. Buffer's Community inbox is on every plan, free included, and is one reason people stay. It covers ten networks, more than Munshi replies to.
Analytics Search Console, Google Analytics and every connected network on one Results page. Numbers are captured daily, with a flag when a connection breaks. 30 days of history on the free plan. Either paid plan adds unlimited history, deeper reporting and branded reports you can export. The numbers are social only, with nothing from your website.
On a phone The web app rearranges for phone width. It has a top bar, a bottom bar for Home, Calendar, Social, Community and Results, and a plus button that opens the composer. There is no app to install. Native iOS and Android apps, plus the web app. This is better if you post from your phone.
Link in bio Not offered. Start Page, a hosted link in bio page, is included on every plan. It counts as one of your channels.
Billing terms $15 a month or $144 a year. Cancel any time in the Paddle billing portal, with 7-day money back on a first payment. Monthly or annual, and annual saves about two months. Cards only: Visa, Mastercard, Amex, JCB, Discover and Diners. There is no PayPal, cheque or bank transfer. Nonprofits and charities get 50% off paid plans.
Track record Munshi launched in 2026. The team is small and the history is short, and we would rather you knew that. In market since 2010. Its home page shows a public count of 266,459 creators, brands and agencies.

Every plan, both sides

These are published list prices, not what a sales call gets you. We re-check them whenever either vendor changes a price, and the date is at the top of this page.

Buffer plans in full

Plan Per channel monthly Per channel yearly Channels Scheduled posts Users Analytics history
Free$0$0Up to 310 per channel130 days
Essentials$6$60UnlimitedUnlimited, fair use1Unlimited
Team$12$120UnlimitedUnlimited, fair useUnlimitedUnlimited

Those are the rates for the first ten channels. Channels 11 to 25 cost $4 each a month on either paid plan, and 26 to 50 cost $3. Past 50, they fall to $1 on Essentials or $2 on Team. A channel is one connected account, and Buffer's own list counts a Start Page as one. Unlimited scheduling has a fair use ceiling of 5,000 posts per channel. Free adds 100 saved ideas and one API key. Essentials adds a hashtag manager, first comment scheduling on LinkedIn and exportable reports. Team adds approvals, custom access controls, unlimited members and first comment scheduling on Instagram too.

Munshi plans in full

Plan Billed monthly Billed yearly Networks Posts Articles Per-channel fee
Founding$15/mo$144/yr8, one account each1,000/mo15/mo, written for youNone
Studio$29/mo$288/yr8 per brand, 3 brands3,000/mo pooled45/mo across 3 brandsNone
EnterpriseCustomCustom8 per brandSet with the planSet with the planNone

Founding pricing is locked for life on the plan and billing cycle you join. Later price rises apply only to new members. Every tier has two seats per workspace. Munshi also keeps each account below the rate networks treat as spam. That means at most 25 posts an hour to any one account. The daily cap is 100 on Instagram and Facebook, 25 on Pinterest and 50 on the rest.

Three situations, with the arithmetic

These are list prices, multiplied out. Do the same sum for your own team before you believe either of us.

One person, three channels, already writing

A founder who posts to Instagram, LinkedIn and Threads and writes the captions on the train.

Buffer $0 The free plan covers three channels with 10 scheduled posts each, the community inbox and 30 days of analytics. Essentials, at $18 a month, lifts the limits on the queue and the history.
Munshi $15/mo Founding. The posts and 15 articles a month are written for you and wait in a weekly batch.

If you enjoy writing the captions, Buffer's free plan is the right answer, and this page should not talk you out of it. Munshi earns its $15 only when the writing stops happening.

A small business on eight networks

The business has an account on every network, and nobody's job is content.

Buffer $48/mo Essentials: eight channels at $6 each billed monthly, or $480 a year. You still write every post, and there is no blog.
Munshi $15/mo Founding covers all 8 networks with no per-channel fee, 1,000 posts a month and 15 articles.

Per-channel pricing is at its worst here, and this is the case Munshi is built for. One caveat is real: Munshi holds one account per network per workspace. Eight networks means eight accounts, not eight Facebook Pages.

An agency with three clients

Three brands, five channels each, a contributor who drafts and a manager who approves.

Buffer $140/mo Team, fifteen channels: ten at $12 and five at $4, billed monthly. Unlimited seats, approval workflows and custom access controls.
Munshi $29/mo Studio runs three brands with their own accounts and calendars, 45 articles and 3,000 posts pooled, and per-brand results.

Munshi is a fifth of the price and writes the content. Buffer is the better fit if the review chain matters. Studio still gives you two seats and no roles, and five channels per client only works if they are five different networks.

Pick Buffer if…

  • Someone on the team already writes the posts, and you need a reliable queue
  • You run several accounts on one network, such as four Facebook Pages or three Instagram profiles
  • You want to start at zero: three channels free, forever, with no card and no trial clock
  • You post from your phone and want a real iOS or Android app
  • More than two people touch the content, and a contributor submits to an approver
  • You want a link in bio page and a community inbox in one subscription

Pick Munshi if…

  • Nobody is going to write the posts, and the empty queue is the real problem
  • You want blog articles written into your own CMS (the tool your blog runs on), which Buffer does not do at any price
  • You run every major network and would rather pay one flat price than $6 a channel
  • You want search numbers and social numbers on one page, not social alone
  • You want the week planned for you, keywords included, instead of a blank composer
  • One $15 bill is easier to justify than one that moves each time you connect an account

Where each one falls down

A comparison written by one of the two tools is worth reading only if it is willing to lose a row. Here are both lists.

What Buffer does not do

  • It does not plan, and it writes nothing unless you ask. The AI Assistant drafts and edits a post while you sit in the composer. Ideas is a notes drawer, not a keyword plan.
  • There is no blog. Nothing in Buffer publishes an article to WordPress, Ghost, Webflow, Framer or anywhere else.
  • There is no keyword research, SEO scoring, or search and website analytics. The numbers stop at the social channels.
  • Essentials has a single user. A second login means the Team plan, which doubles the per-channel price.
  • The bill grows with every account you connect, and a Start Page counts as a channel.
  • The free plan caps at 10 scheduled posts per channel and 30 days of analytics history.

Buffer's own pricing page, help centre and product pages, read 17 September 2026

What we will tell you about Munshi

  • One account per network per workspace. If you run four Facebook Pages, Buffer is the right tool and Munshi is not.
  • Two seats per workspace and no role chain. There is no contributor-and-approver workflow like Buffer's Team plan.
  • No mobile app. The web app works at phone width, but there is nothing to install.
  • The Community inbox replies on Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn and Threads only. YouTube and Bluesky comments are read-only, and there are no direct messages. Buffer's inbox covers ten networks.
  • No link in bio page, no hashtag manager and no first comment scheduling.
  • A small team launched Munshi in 2026, so the track record is months, not Buffer's decade.

Written by the people who build Munshi, September 2026

Munshi and Buffer, answered

How much does Buffer cost?

Buffer charges per connected channel, and its free plan covers three channels. Essentials is $6 per channel a month, or $60 a year. Team is $12 per channel a month, or $120 a year. Channels 11 to 25 cost $4 each, 26 to 50 cost $3, and past 50 cost $1 on Essentials or $2 on Team. Prices checked on buffer.com/pricing on 17 September 2026.

Is Buffer's free plan actually free?

Yes, and it never expires. You get three channels, 10 scheduled posts per channel at a time, 100 saved ideas and one user. It also includes the Community inbox, a Start Page and 30 days of analytics history. The AI Assistant has no credit limit, but AI reply suggestions in the inbox are capped at five a week. For a solo owner who writes their own captions, it is a good product at $0.

Does Buffer write posts for you?

Only one at a time, when you ask. The AI Assistant drafts a post from your prompt, or shortens, expands, changes the tone of or reshapes a post you wrote. It is unlimited on every plan, free included. It does not decide what to post this week, so you prompt it for every post. Munshi writes 15 articles and up to 1,000 posts a month from a keyword plan you approved. They are waiting when you open the app.

Can Buffer publish blog articles to my website?

No. Buffer's channels are social accounts plus its own Start Page link in bio page. Its product areas are publishing, creation, community and insights, and nothing in it writes or publishes an article to a website. Munshi writes 15 articles a month into WordPress, Ghost, Webflow, Framer and Sanity on the base plan. Ghost, Webflow and Framer get drafts you publish from your own dashboard. WordPress gets drafts too, except scheduled articles, which go live at their slot, and Sanity goes live on schedule.

Which networks does Buffer support?

Eleven: Facebook, Instagram, X, LinkedIn, Pinterest, TikTok, YouTube Shorts, Threads, Bluesky, Mastodon and Google Business Profile. Facebook Groups and Buffer's own Start Page are in the same list. Munshi connects 8: Instagram, TikTok, LinkedIn, Facebook, Pinterest, Threads, YouTube and Bluesky. Buffer adds X, Mastodon and Google Business Profile. X is coming soon on Munshi, and Munshi has nothing for Mastodon or Google Business Profile.

What counts as a channel in Buffer?

One connected account. Buffer lists Facebook pages and groups, LinkedIn pages and profiles, and Pinterest business and personal accounts separately. So a Facebook page, a Facebook group and a LinkedIn profile are three channels, and five Facebook pages are five. Munshi works the other way: a workspace holds one account per network, and a second account on the same network needs a second workspace.

Is Buffer cheaper than Munshi?

It depends on how many channels you connect. Free is cheaper than $15, and three channels on Essentials cost $18 a month, about the same. Eight channels on Essentials cost $48 a month against Munshi's $15. Fifteen channels on Team cost $140 a month against Studio's $29. Buffer's price does not include anyone writing the posts, and Munshi's does.

Does Buffer have approval workflows and team seats?

Yes, on the Team plan at $12 per channel a month. Team adds unlimited team members, content approval workflows and custom access controls. Buffer is better than Munshi here. A Munshi workspace has two seats and no role hierarchy, so approval is one person clearing a weekly batch.

Does Buffer have a mobile app?

Yes, on iOS and Android, alongside the web app. Munshi has no app to install. Its web app rearranges at phone width. It gets a top bar, a bottom bar for Home, Calendar, Social, Community and Results, and a plus button for the composer. If you mostly post from your phone, Buffer is ahead.

Can I use Buffer and Munshi together?

You can, but there is little reason to. Both publish to the same accounts, so you would have two queues posting to one Instagram and two sets of numbers to reconcile. The one case that makes sense is a network Munshi does not reach, such as Mastodon or a Google Business Profile. Keep that on Buffer's free plan and let Munshi run the rest.

How do I move from Buffer to Munshi?

There is no importer, and little to import. Anything Buffer published is already on your own accounts and stays there. Export your Buffer analytics if you want the history, and disconnect the accounts there. Then connect them to Munshi, describe your business and approve a first strategy, which takes about an afternoon. Munshi can also pull in your past posts so the calendar is not empty on day one.

Does Munshi write the posts, or just help me write them?

It writes them. Each week Munshi proposes a plan for your business and writes the articles for the keywords in it. It turns each article into posts shaped for every network you connected, then waits for your approval. Nothing publishes without your yes, and you can send back or edit anything that reads wrong.

More on what Munshi does: the blog engine · cross-posting · analytics · pricing